I Can’t Wait for Dinner Tonight

 

Foods.JPG
Journal Page

I was shopping at Whole Foods yesterday and was excited to see red snapper for sale.  Red snapper is that beautiful fish with a white underbelly and coral tail whose back looks as if someone had loaded a paintbrush with deep coral and pink pigments and splattered it at random.  Not too long ago I watched someone scale and clean this fish on the beach, the shorn scales scattered across the water, iridescent in the bright sunshine.

I am going to cook it in a coconut curry sauce with a bit of lime juice for sparkle, a dash of turmeric for that golden color.  In Jamaica I had the snapper with bammy, a flatbread made with cassava.  But tonight I’ll stick with something I know better, probably Jasmine rice. For a vegetable?  I don’t know yet, I’ll have to see what feels right as I plot and plan my meal all day.

I can’t wait for dinner tonight, to share that flavor memory with my husband.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Foods.JPG

 

5 thoughts on “I Can’t Wait for Dinner Tonight”

  1. Your words make me hungry, for sure, and I LOVE your journal — what a beautiful drawing of a snapper and your handwriting makes me smile — it’s so distinctive and lovely. Hmmm… now I want to make something with coconut curry sauce soon!

    Like

  2. Last time, only the stamped letters F-O-O-D was in your journal. I love how you filled the pages in!
    Favorite line: Red snapper is that beautiful fish with a white underbelly and coral tail whose back looks as if someone had loaded a paintbrush with deep coral and pink pigments and splattered it at random.
    So long and descriptive and accurate!

    Like

  3. I’ve never had red snapper before and now I will be on the lookout for it! This is my favorite line as it creates such a wonderful image: “someone had loaded a paintbrush with deep coral and pink pigments and splattered it at random.”

    Like

Leave a Reply

