Writing in the month of March 2020

My first slice of March, 2020, was about the day my dishwasher flooded, sending gallons of water gushing onto the floor.  Water that eventually dripped down into the basement.  I look back wistfully, wishing that that had been the worst thing to happen this month.

It boggles my mind how quickly life can change.  It boggles my mind that a microscopic virus can change the course of our lives, uprooting our way of life.  The writing we have all done this month reflects this change.  The first alarms came from fellow writers on the other side of the world. They told of quarantines, and face masks and bravery in the face of fear, along with everyday stories.

A slice that has stayed vividly in my mind was from someone living in Thailand.  (Unfortunately, I can’t remember who it was.)  This writer wrote about her housekeeper, whom she had asked for guidance on how to get face masks.  To the writer’s great surprise, the housekeeper showed up one day with colorful, patterned, handmade masks – custom-made smaller ones to fit the kids and larger ones for the adults.  The writer was very touched by the kindness of this gesture.  I thought it was an amazing story, yet, it seemed a bit surreal to me.  Looking back, how prescient it was.

Everyday seems to bring a new challenge, a new curveball.  In this month of March, I read stories of teachers adapting to the curveball of distance learning – facing it head on, as teachers are wont to do. I read stories of teachers missing their students and stories of setting up home “classrooms”.  I read stories about the signs of Spring – emerging in a variety of ways across our country, across the world.  I read family stories: engagements, card games, virtual birthday parties, and lots of love.  I read sad stories and stories of struggles.  I read stories that made me laugh out loud.  I read poems and narratives and letters, in first person and third person, and even one or two in second person.  I have read and treasured comments and the feeling that I’ve gotten to know some of my fellow writers through the commenting.

This has been a tough month, but it’s also been a month of perseverance, hope and community, and moments of beauty glimpsed through the words of so many amazing writers.

7 thoughts on “Writing in the month of March 2020

  1. Thank you for this beautiful synopsis of what this writing challenge has meant for all of us this month. I did not read that slice from Thailand – but I got goose pimples from your words/assessment, “Looking back, how prescient it was.” Congrats on a month of slicing!

    Like

    1. Maureen – I haven’t figured out how to respond in blogspot.com, but want to let you know that I loved the piece about the thesaurus. Your description of how to use it was spot on, and I learned a new term: fore edge. There is nothing like flipping through a thesaurus (or my personal favorite, the dictionary) to open us up to a whole kaleidoscope of words. Your list of words for this month of writing was great.

      Like

  2. Beautifully said! Keep writing; I have a feeling writing and sharing may help us all get through the next few months. (I hope for “few.”)

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Your survey of the month is elegant. The word that stands out to me the most is hope. Moments of beauty bring hope. Best to you and yours.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I definitely agree with this sentiment- “I look back wistfully, wishing that that had been the worst thing to happen this month.” Truly this month has changed our perspectives and priorities. I’m so happy you came back and wrote this last day of the month, reflecting on all the changes. Take care and see you soon!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. This is a beautiful synopsis of how the month of writing captured so many changes in the world. All those small moments reflecting the big events. Fleshing out the personal stories as the world changes. I love how you start with the dishwasher leak!
    I am reminded that I missed out on readingmost of your posts last year when my March writing was interrupted. I hope to “catch up” with them, so you may see a few comments from me along the way. And remember- post whenever you want, I’d love to read more.

    Like

Leave a comment